The Distractors’ Cut Special Edition: Emergency Couple (BTS)

The first “ex-marrieds get a redo” drama is ending tomorrow, so the Distractors’ are back (ExtraKun and I) with a look Beyond the Scenes at TvN‘s Emergency Couple.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E01.140124.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-10-15]

Premise Emergency Kit: Song Ji-hyo stars as the paranoid, witless Oh Jin-hee and Choi Jin-hyuk as the spoiled, never satisfied Oh Chang-min, a couple that married young and divorced quickly, then wind up working together as medical interns, where their passion as doctors becomes a spring board for a mutual understanding that leads to rekindling their romance.

Though set in an emergency room, EC isn’t solely about medicine, while it also isn’t just a backdrop like a common soap opera. For, it uses its characters’ occupation as a catalyst to draw out facets of their personalities that would remain hidden or dormant, if not for the high demand workplace they’ve been placed. It forces compromise, strength and transparency, which in turn mirrors the attributes needed to tap into the idiosyncrasies of each character.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E01.140124.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-01-28]
By the middle of the series, it becomes fairly evident Jin-hee and Chang-min should have never married. Not because love wasn’t present but because neither knew how or cared to build and sustain a relationship that would last. Neither was willing to give in the areas they needed nor were they willing to listen and resolve. Instead, they reacted in emotional ways and separated.

Now, after connecting as colleagues, feelings have reawakened and our couple is contemplating beginning again.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E19.140329.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH.mp40103[tvN] 응급남녀.E19.140329.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH.mp40020

Unnichan: So Emergency Couple is almost over… Do you think it’s shaping up how you thought it would?

ExtraKun: Well, I didn’t know how this show would pan out and I am still up in the air on how they will end. I can say there are a lot of things I like, a few things that are beyond me, and even fewer things that get a, “Show stop playing me!”

Unnichan: Speaking of “Show, stop playing”— there were two big things in this last episode that had me giving NO’s all over the place… One had to be Yong-gyu and Ah-reum.

ExtraKun: Oh yes! The consolation from Chang-min is Yong-gyu. I hate that, Yong-gyu is a good guy. A little too sensitive for my speed but I do not like that the show is implying that with this couple.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E18.140328.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-31-51]

Unnichan: Look I know everyone knows Kdrama Code and if we’re playing by the rules then of course this was going to happen. My issue is the way it’s going down. I don’t like that. It would’ve been much more believable if after he’d quit being a doctor, they met at a random club in episode 21. That way, there’s hope; he’s confident and she’s over Changmin. This way just seems like sloppy seconds… But I do like that Yong-gyu is passing on being a doctor.

ExtraKun: Agreed. I like that he is trying to find something else because like I said, he is too fragile.

Unnichan: My second thing was Chun-soo Oppa’s world falling apart in episode 18, was it?

ExtraKun: When he went to his ex- girlfriend’s house crying over Jin-hee? That was in 19 and I told Oppa to kick rocks!

[tvN] 응급남녀.E04.140201.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-39-59]02

Unnichan: Heh. That was classless. I get that she’s his only friend and he really needed someone (I suppose) but I had hoped he was realizing his true feelings for Ji-hye. However, what really had me was… How did we get here? I mean, when was Oppa this deep?

ExtraKun: Unfortunately, I wasn’t surprised. I knew he would act out from the first momo he decided to like her. And we knew that she would have to toy with the idea of another go round with Chang-min. It was all perfect for him to be in the street and what not so Oppa could grow a heart.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E07.140214.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-26-58]

Unnichan: I guess that makes me even angrier then. Cause now I’m even more upset Ji-hye didn’t give him a piece of her mind. I’m all for Oppa getting his life together because he seems to want to despite his brash reluctance but I’m not for the way he’s acting right now. Or perhaps, how Show wants me to accept his attitude.There are plenty of things I can relate wholeheartedly to concerning Oppa but that? I just wasn’t there. ‘Cause in the end, isn’t it really Ji-hye that will get him to open himself up and grow, not this little crush on Jin-hee?

ExtraKun: I told Oppa to kick rocks and I meant that. You not coming in my house drunk in the middle of the night crying over some heifer you did not even try to go after! You may not know that Ji-hye loves you like that still, but you need to get. that. *Censored*. Together!

[tvN] 응급남녀.E07.140214.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-21-05]

Unnichan: AHAHAHA! But I think that’s one of my problems. Given his comment to her, he knows; has an inkling or something and that’s another “NO” in my book. The only thing that I can say is that I like Ji-hye. Not for being silent and watching him but for putting her friendship first. She understands him and though she’s annoyed(disappointed even), she knows he’s not set out to hurt her. She accepts where and what they are, yet was very overt about her feelings in the beginning. That I respect.

ExtraKun: I agree. She has been kind of bomb throughout this show. She had ???’s in my eyes at the beginning when she was asking for that Demerol, but she has turned out to be a character who truly is selfless and wants what’s best for all. But on the other side of that coin, ExtraKun says, “You better stop playing and get your boo!” *slides off soapbox*

Unnichan: I don’t care if they end up together, ’cause I’m not sure Oppa deserves her… But, I do think this is one of those times that he needs to get an ear full. I’m not usually a proponent of airing your “feelings” but gosh I just think Oppa needs the cuss out! Am I wrong?

[tvN] 응급남녀.E19.140329.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-49-14]

ExtraKun: Cuss outs are sometimes necessary in life… I will allow it. Let us move on to something else I am curious about. Unnichan? What is going to happen with Chang-min and Jin-hee?! Girl they woke up in the same bed with naked shoulders! You know what that means…

Unnichan:I know right?! It was the naked shoulders that got me. I was fine thinking they “slept” together but now it’s definitive they bumped bellies! It’s not surprising given the drink but what I’m curious about is how will they process this? What will the sex be classified as? I would say, “Thank you” and go back to work, personally.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E18.140328.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-33-31]

ExtraKun: Oh M Gee! You the love ‘em and leave ‘em type UC?! Girl I didn’t know. I think Chang-min gave the best advice when he told her to think about it, and then think about it again, and then once more. I just have no idea what this means. If I had my rathers, they would be friends until it is unavoidable but to be together. Does that make sense?

[tvN] 응급남녀.E18.140328.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[02-01-27]

Unnichan: I’m not the “love ‘em leave ‘em” type necessarily, but I do think that this shouldn’t automatically change anything. Like you said, Chang-min gave great advice. He said it sincerely. And I can’t imagine how hard it was for him to not only get there but vocalize it. Jin-hee on the other hand has always been a character I questioned. She said she didn’t want to go back. And I believe she shouldn’t. I’ve always believed they should be friends and colleagues and do other things. The only problem now is Chang-min being in too deep.

ExtraKun: Look, we said a hit needs to be put out on Chang-min because he is so great. That is why I am mad people were calling him a jerk and whatnot in the first 2-4 episodes. Jin- hee is unbalanced– but for some reason now that she is 33, I think she can get her life together and make it work if that is what THEY want to do.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E01.140124.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-02-32] Unnichan: They are both extremely emotional people; one, inwardly, the other outwardly and that was a part of their problem in the beginning. I guess at this point I’m just glad that Jin-hee realized what we’ve known since episode 1— her tail was too caught up in herself to see what was really going on. Ugh, I don’t think I’ll ever forgive her for accusing him of trying to kill her! (It just boils me!) I won’t say that Chang-min did everything right (he most certainly didn’t) but it’s always been clear that he loved that girl (it’s her I’m still not sure about). And now he’s got the nerve to love her more than he did before— so I guess now he may end up taking  Daddy’s advice.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E19.140329.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH.mp40228[tvN] 응급남녀.E07.140214.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[01-23-14]

ExtraKun: Ne. Speaking of parents… Omma? Girl, you are one of the things that is beyond me that I mentioned in the beginning. I am referring to Chang-min’s omma at the moment. Why has it taken daddy dying for me to believe you ever loved that man or anything but yourself? That ain’t right.

Unnichan: It’s unsettling and depressing that she never seemed to have anything decent to say when he was alive. I get that in relationships things sour or you get to this point where this is how you “function” but it’s just ridiculous. Especially since he wasn’t being argumentative. She was just barking and screaming and pushing and wailing. It’s tiring. I’m personally surprised HE still loved her.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E18.140328.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[02-00-44]

ExtraKun: Right!? I am not telling people how to stay married because I am not about that in my life these days, but I am certain love, appreciation, respect, etc. are common basics. She won’t giving any of that. Something that I respect about the show is that we do dive into the complexities of several different relationship. Thoughts?

Unnichan: That’s what I was thinking. We have several types of relationships in this drama dating, married, family, work, friendly. I like that we see it all but it’s not all rammed down our throats all the time. There are subtle beats like with Chang-min and his uncle or Jin-ae and her husband. We see love and appreciation and I’ve enjoyed that. Even the other doctors, that are mostly comic relief, reflect a type of relationship with Chun-soo and the other interns that I’ve enjoyed.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E19.140329.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[00-28-53]

ExtraKun: I love it. The subtle corners that do not leave question marks about what they are up to because they are most interesting portion of the drama (I hate when that happens in a show). I really appreciate this drama as a whole and I cannot wait to see how it ends. I have finished 3 other shows this week (Deja Vu, How I Met Your Mother, and Age of Feeling), and I have been disappointed by every single one. Please be a moderate ending I can live with EC!

Unnichan: EC has managed to have the entire package and actually hit on points that I wasn’t sure we’d get to without being heavy handed and manipulative. In the end, I think everyone will get what they want, including us. ‘Cause ultimately I think we’ll be satisfied with anything as long as they remain consistent. Anything specific you’re hoping for in this last week?

ExtraKun: The one thing I have to have is Oppa getting it together. Everything else I think I can understand. I just really want to see Oppa love himself, forgive those who need it, and move on with his life. If I get that everything else will be icing!

Unnichan: So you’re ok with a remarriage?

[tvN] 응급남녀.E19.140329.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[00-31-18]

ExtraKun: If that is what Chang-min and Jin-hee want to do, who am I to stop them? If you are really willing to work at it and make it work this time– Do it! Though, in real life I am more along the lines of no remarriages, however, I believe every situation is different.

Unnichan: I get it. I think remarriage is scary, even in their situation. I’d rather the drama end without that “period” at the end. However, it’s understandable that Show may want to take it there. Overall thoughts for EC?

ExtraKun: I like the show. I do not feel like my time was wasted in watching unlike the shows mentioned previously (9 years on HIMYM!!! Fire and brimstone). Unless this year comes out with all the excellent shows at the end of the year it can make the top 10 of 2014.

Unnichan: I can see a top 10 listing, but there are a lot of interesting things cooking this year. All around the world for me. EC has been fun and Choi Jin-hyuk has been bomb! I love him and Song Ji-hyo together so much I’d real-life ship them… You know, if it wouldn’t put my life in danger.

[tvN] 응급남녀.E19.140329.HDTV.H264.720p-WITH[00-28-20]

One thought on “The Distractors’ Cut Special Edition: Emergency Couple (BTS)”

Tell Me Something Good

