Movie Moment: Bahubali

Baahubali_06I honestly don’t get the chance to write about many Telegu language films, mainly because news on releases isn’t as widely accessible and I also am not as well versed or exposed to the language or medium. However, the Southern Indian film industry produces some excellent stories and is filled with some of the best Indian actors around. Thankfully, some powers that be, have decided to branch out to create more films that appeal to international audiences and the first of many is epic war film Bahubali; which has now been coined the most expensive Indian film made (snatching the moniker from Shah Rukh Khan‘s Ra.One (2011)). The quality and topic, not to mention locations and costumes or specially made props and objects has the budget high. Shooting mostly took place at Ramoji Film City in Hyderabad but expect to see other historical and lush spots like Athirappilly Falls, Mahabaleshwar and Orvakal Rock Gardens just to name a few. The price tag makes sense given the stretch of the film and with its backing, why not go for gold.Baahubali_poster02I personally, don’t like to compare projects, especially Hollywood films to anything produced overseas, but seems this film falls into the genre of English language releases like 300 and Troy [the latter being a personal favorite, even if not, the best] and is being touted as the South Indian version of either or both. I can see the itch to make the reference with the fantasy element and the prototypical nature of its narrative. The film is a two-part journey set in an ancient Indian kingdom, depicting two brothers clamoring for the rights of control. Like anyone, I love a great story and warring siblings is as classic and captivating as you can get. Everything I’ve seen (and heard) reminds me more of Asoka but on a much grander, polished scale. And if it remains true to that scheme, I for one, am bound to appreciate the project.

 

bahubali_posterI sheepishly admit, this film popped on my radar because Dharma Productions holds charge of the Hindi market but it’s the posters that grabbed my interest. I’m always drawn to greys and blues with sweeping imagery, for I always get a sense of losing myself in the characters’ worlds and dreams. With a July 10th release we’re right on the brink of finding out if writer/director S.S.Rajamouli and Shobu Yarlagadda (producer) have a major hit on their hands. And while I certainly hope so, with excellent talents like Prabhas, Rana Daggubati, and Anushka Shetty starring, the treat of seeing them on-screen is enough for me. Other cast members include: TamannaahSathyaraj, NassarRamya KrishnanAdivi Sesh and Rohini but I haven’t even scratched the surface of all the major players in this saga.

Baahubali_01Baahubali_02Actress Anushka Shetty @ Bahubali Movie Making Photos

The makers are also looking to offer the entire film in Telugu, Tamil, Hindi and Malayalam languages, while the music was composed by M. M. Keervaani.

Bahubali translates as “The One With Strong Arms” and I’m beyond intrigued by what the title contends to convey.

 

Baahubali_03

Baahubali_05

Baahubali_04

One thought on “Movie Moment: Bahubali”

  1. You know, I just saw this last weekend, and it was fantastic! I didn’t know what to expect but this was truly Epic with a capital ‘E’. This is what you call a BLOCKBUSTER. It looks fabulous, the effects were awesome, music, all of it! Really enjoyed it, and best bang for buck movie experience I’ve had in forever. Highly recommended 🙂

Tell Me Something Good

