First Look: Diwale

My favorite OTP anywhere, doing anything (EVER!) is slated to release their eighth motion picture film together by the end of the year. That’s right, kids, you read correctly— Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol are back! I don’t really think it’s possible to surpass this couple in my book as perfection because they work for so many reasons in my mind on and off-screen. It’s true, I’d never want to see them portray anything besides lovers but I sincerely believe their synergy as actors could pull off any role opposite one another and in an alternate universe, would love to see them give it a try. 

Unfortunately, that won’t be the case here (Indian audiences wouldn’t have it!) but Rohit Shetty‘s Diwale [English title: (The) Big Hearted] does seem to steer from the traditional jodi and bring my couple down to an earthy, breezy, modern romance. From the initial still of the two I already feel warm and comfy, ready to fall in love seamlessly with this pair. Kajol’s look reminds me of Kareena Kapoor’s Geet” from Jab We Met (which coincidentally is very akin to this couples’ longest running hit) or Kajol’s own romantic lead role in her hubby’s The Notebook remake, U Me Aur Hum. And I personally love the look on them both, casual and airy, simple.

Not much is known (or been released) about the plot of the film at the moment but the genre is action comedy (Of course!) and the supporting cast, Varun Dhawan (Student of the Year, Badlapur) and Kriti Sanon (Nenokkadine, Heropanti), just recently followed the star to Bulgaria shooting.  I’m certain their will be tons of laughs and LoLs (lapses of logic) but as always, Shetty weaves in a poignant take-away or key phrase, so I look forward to see what is up his sleeve this time. 

The film is headed our way December 18, 2015, with music by the always wonder Pritam (Barfi!, Dhoom franchise)

Tell Me Something Good

