Day*12: Favorite Story

For me, every drama is about the stories and the characters within them. I have to admit I enjoy characters a bit more that storyline, but stories are what brings us to the table right? And honestly, I’ve thought long and hard about what this day was supposed to encompass, because seriously, what was/is my favorite story? Do I even truly have one? Does favorite story mean favorite drama or just my favorite story that “became” a drama? Is it a drama/story I haven’t mentioned in a previous Challenge entry? And the list goes on and on…

Well, as you can tell, I’m pretty pensive and actually finally came up with an answer.


My favorite story is always any story that is constructed around best or close friends, no matter how long they’ve been in a friend relationship. If a buddy relationship (between a man and a woman) is done well, the murkiness of sex, though an issue, isn’t the focal point. I find that this is where more male-female friendship stories run off track, for sometimes, those two people will only and should only be “friends,” no benefits, no dating, no sexual confusion. I know I may be in the minority here, but this is where I think tons of stories could improve and reward us all by drawing the line at friendship.

If a man and a woman are close, it doesn’t mean they are in love, ever were, have slept together or will in the future. This notion may defy human interpretation of the world at large, but it’s true. However, being that isn’t the case with most opposite sex bestie stories, we must be content with a story that is done well- that hits all the right notes of friendship, but also leaves room for a genuine and substantial love relationship.There are plenty of dramas and films that have aired with this premise, most being my favorite, but there is one drama, that has cropped up for me surprisingly over the last few months that gives me an opportunity to speak on this subject, without trying to name my favorite “depiction” of this story.

Basically, some time during my drama slump last year, I began watching alot of Bones. For those who don’t know about the show, it’s a US procedural drama about a forensic anthropologist and an FBI agent who are crime solving partners. As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I love crime drama, but this show never really appealed to me. I was disinterested in Temperance Brennan (Emily Deschanel) as a know-it-all, emotionally inept, atheist anthropologist and I truly thought I’d never be able to compute David Boreanaz as anyone other than Angel (from the US vampire cult series Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel). I’d seen some isolated episodes but that was it and I was content with that.

For, most of the time, when you have a man and a woman in the leads, there’s always that, “Will they or won’t they?” scenario and I was actually tired of that setup in a drama, slogging away, year after year only to never get to the point. But then when I was under TPM-effect, I just dove into the drama and pretty much, swallowed it whole. Temperance Brennan and Seeley Booth became characters that give me all I want in the best friends/ (almost, coulda, most definitely will be) lovers genre.

In my short time with these characters, I realized that they are two friends that make you desire to be a better friend. Their relationship is one that is based on deliberate transparency and tangible vulnerability. Brennan’s respect and trust for Booth at times is beyond comprehension and Booth’s love for Brennan is the epitome of unconditional. Together they are the poster children for partners based on an everlasting friendship, that will survive, regardless of any sexual attraction, attachment or addition.

And honestly, this is the kind of opposite sex friendship I like to see. Of course the question of will they ever “get it right” and end up together is always in the air but it isn’t however what had me devouring episode after episode, season after season. It was their relationship. Their interaction with one another that let you know that these two people are committed to being together, as life long buddies.

Friendship and companionship, will always win over romance in my book. Therefore, my favorite stories are always stories where two strangers meet and connect and form a bond that surpasses sex or lust and makes a soul-mate and your partner in buddy-hood the best ship to be on. Any story that produces those types of relationships, always finds a place on my list, amongst my collection and in my heart.

[stills courtesy of entertainmentwallpaper]

Tell Me Something Good

