Movie Moment: Top 5 BF³

HAPPY FRIENDSHIP DAY!

In April, the United Nations announced July 30th officially as International Friendship Day! And here at w.s.p., friendship is revered as one of the best relationships a person can ever enter in life. It’s our fervor as entertainment media lovers that gets us online chatting and forming relationships that allows for sites like this one. Truly, my drama obsession has helped me to make so many new friends and even strengthen the bonds I have in my long-time friendships. It’s amazing how much you can learn while watching a drama, reading a book or viewing a film; about yourself and the people around you. [You all know who you are and I am so very grateful to you!]

So, for the month of August there will be posts on some of the best friendships portrayed in drama and film. I’m all ears for suggestions and life stories. Feel free to join in and share in the celebration!

Since I try to bring a film or recommendation a week, I thought what a better way to celebrate and showcase a film than share some of my favorite best friend romances (BF³). I’ve only chosen five but I’m sure there are plenty, plenty more. I’ll be honest and say that the films(as product) take a backseat to the story the film tells. These stories of friendship really were some of the best of their kind, expressing the type of longevity, commitment and devotion anyone would desire in a romantic partner. If you haven’t seen these films, do it! It really won’t hurt a bit.

I’m also toying with reviewing these films individually so here’s the list and a couple pics. Enjoy.

Top 5 Best Friends Forever Films

5. Sweet Lies

What do you do when you and your crush are in a kismet car collision? Fake amnesia of course! Watch Park Jin Hee, Jo Han Seon and Lee Ki-woo in this romantic comedy about truth, lies and one thing you should never live without– a friend who can tell the difference.

[still courtesy of myasiancinema ]

4. Brown Sugar

Sanaa Lathan and Taye Diggs star in this film chronicling love, friendship and Hip Hop.

3. Mujhse Dosti Karoge?

[still courtesy of Bollywood Hungama]

A young boy (Hrithik Roshan) and two girls (Kareena Kapoor and Rani Mukherjee) spend their childhood as close friends so when the boy has to move away, he asks for his closest friend to write to him. Over the years, he and his friend share milestones, laughter and tears through correspondence. But when he returns home to meet her again as adults, there’s a weird case of mistaken identity. The full movie is available via YouTube for a small fee, but get a taste of what’s to come here.

2. Mansfield Park

Here’s a story of a young girl who moves in with her wealthy aunt and her family to be given a better opportunity at education and marital prospects but mostly because her parents just couldn’t afford her anymore. This film being an adaptation of the Jane Austen novel, there are plenty of films to choose from, but the most recent was Masterpiece Classic’s 2002 version with Billie Piper. I am actually a larger fan of the 1999 version(trailer below) starring Frances O’Connor and Jonny Lee Miller. While they both take a few liberties with the original work, the latter is a little risqué in some areas.

If you’d like to watch the film(2002), it’s available free via YouTube here.

1. Kuch Kuch Hota Hai

[still courtesy of apunachoice]

Kajol and Shah Rukh Khan star in Karan Johar’s directorial debut, a film about a friendship that withstands the test of time.

If you’ve read any of my Top 5 lists, you know already this is my favorite Hindi film of all time! That hasn’t changed and truly there’s not much more to say. However, a friend and I will hopefully be able to collaborate soon on this film– to share the 2K2H lurve!

5 Replies to “Movie Moment: Top 5 BF³”

  1. One that I remember fondly is a Filipino film called “Kung Ko Na Lang Sana” ( my translation:If Only It Were Me) which tracked how two friends matuteured and fell in love. It was so refreshing compared to the usual Filipino film. I’m off to watch it again.

    1. Really? Sounds interesting. Do you know where I could see it with subs? I haven’t checked yet, just wondering? I don’t actually watch a lot of Filipino films because they tend to be dubbed and I seem to have a mental block to anything of that nature. I can never enjoy it. 😦

      1. I’m still on the look-out for streaming this movie with subs. Maybe netflix or some other dvd-rental store would have subs. If I do find one, I’ll let you know.

        I’ve seen Kung Ako Na Lang Sana several times already, and I really feel it can stand up to multiple viewings. The strength of the movie is in the main leads’ characterizations. There’s just something to them both that is so real. I feel they are real persons and not caricatures. However, I felt like it is only a prelude to the real story: what happens after falling in love? How to transition from attraction to commitment? Cause really, isn’t that the question that matters to us real people?

        Anyhow it makes me want to challenge the scriptwriter/director to write a follow-up (for which the actors were in talks to do, but then had real life issues/problems prevent it from materializing).

Tell Me Something Good

